when i grow up {plus a little giveaway!}

When I was younger, I had an obsession with reading – when I was about 2’ish, I hated for my mom to read me bedtime stories, because I wanted to read them to her.

Mom and Dad would try to spell things out, so they could have their “secrets”; mom would ask dad what do you want for supper? and dad would say what about t-a-c-o-b-e-l-l?  They were trying to be slick, but I was too smart for that nonsense. I was bound and determined to figure out what they were saying. So I would go sit in the den and spell it out, sound it out, and try and make the decision for them. (really, I was only trying to help…) I felt like reading was a window into an unknown world. And Clark Kent made it look magical, nevermind his bionic superpowers.

Our public library had a ‘story time’ or ‘story hour’ or whatever it was, where a group of kids would go every week and listen to a couple of stories. And once a year they had a contest, whoever read the most books would win a prize. Yep, I won every year. And really, it wasn’t my fault that I was smarter than all the rest of the kids and teachers – if only they would have figured out that even though I read the book 2 years ago, I still remember all the words, so I counted it. I mean duh, at my level how was it humanly possible to read 150- 50 page books in 2 weeks? – um hello, I was 6.

That was about the time I just knew I would become a writer. Every week when we went to story time at the library, mom only allowed us to borrow a couple of books at a time, because naturally they would get lost in our house (thankssss to my brothers), so once I tried convincing her by pleading momma how can I everrrr win the contest win I can only borrow 3 books a week?! She said well since you just love books so much, why don’t you start writing your own?

Wait. You mean to tell me, that at 6 years old, I could write my very own book? I could be rich! I could be the next Dr. Seuss, Stan & Jan Berenstain, or even Walt.Disney! Eeek! My possiblilites were ENDLESS.

But then, I had stage fright – I couldn’t find anything to write about besides these indians:

So this makes me wonder, did you have something you just KNEW you were going be when you grew up? Obviously I had big dreams, they were so magificent to me at the time, am I the only crazy dreamer? 🙂 tell your story!

To enter the giveaway: 1. leave your story! 2.  if you have facebook or twitter – post a link to this blog and tell your friends to enter – and then let me know when you do 🙂

Since Starbucks is the perfect place to read a good book, I’m giving away a $15 giftcard to Starbucks! 🙂 The winner will be chosen Sunday at 12pm by using random.org

[ps – yes i know i’ve always been cursed with a double chin 🙂 the first two pictures above are of me and my brother Colton, and the 3rd one is Colton, Brett, and a family friend – Ethan}

5 responses to “when i grow up {plus a little giveaway!}

  1. This post totally made me smile! I thought I was going to be a country singer, no kidding. I really did think I would make it. And guess what, I cannot sing. At.All. But you can bet I dreamed about it, made big plans in my little girl head for it, listened too and belted out every country song I could. Even had a little gig that included my sister and cousin, but that story is way to long to tell! Haha!

  2. My story is so embarrassing! When I was little we moved into a house that was a “fixer-upper,” so my Dad worked on remodeling forever. I would always tag along with him to Home Depot when he had to buy supplies and such, so I wanted to work at Home Depot. I remember telling my dad that when I was like 5 and he was like, “No, you don’t, Silly!” I was dead set though! lol! I ended up becoming a nurse, so I guess it all worked out!

  3. Tweeted about the giveaway 🙂

  4. when i was younger (probably around 5 or 6) i used to believe i was an olsen. yes, this is the same olsen as in mary-kate & ashley olsen. not only did i believe i was their sister, but i thought there was a possibility that the three of us were triplets. i will say that they are a few years older than i am, so in reality this is not even possible but the 5 or 6 year old version of me did not think of these things.

    this belief may have led into many reasons of why i wanted to be famous growing up. i did many things as a child that i thought would help me get famous, but those stories are for another day 🙂

  5. Ashton Griffin

    I loved this entire post … loved the story and pictures! I always wanted to be a school teacher. Haha! Don’t know why and I know i’m not near smart enough, but that was what I wanted to be for years.

Leave a Reply

