new little journey.. {personal}

{NOTE: Several people have asked what I’m doing as far as my new way of eating, and so I decided to write a post on it. I do NOT need sympathy, my pity party ended years ago 😉 } { NOTE 2:  oh yeah, this is a SUPER long post.}

I really, really can’t believe I’m blogging about it; but honestly I’m pretty excited about it and the difference it’s already made. A month ago today my mom & I embarked on a new journey in our life and changed the way we’re eating dramatically.

I went to Weight Watchers for the first time when I was 11, for the life of me I knew I was bigger than everyone my age even then, and I wanted to change that. But Weight Watchers wasn’t the answer, so for the next 5 years I just accepted that I was bigger than the other girls, even though I didn’t eat more or have a very different lifestyle than they did. But when I was 16 I decided I needed to find an answer, so we went doctor shopping, and all of them told me they didn’t understand, it was just genetics. I joined a gym, and I went faithfully, I worked with a personal trainer, still barely any results. Finally one doctor diagnosed me as having Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome {thankfully I don’t have the ‘manly hair’ that some do with PCOS} but regardless they told me then that “you will probably either have a really hard time having kids, or you may not be able to have them at all”. And that devastated me; coming from a big family, and all I’ve ever known from families around me were married families with kids. I eventually accepted that, and even though there is still a chance I can have kids; if I can’t, I’ll just adopt. So for the past several years, me and my mom have researched and researched, trying to find what causes it, what helps it, and if there is something I can do. Last year I went to a endocrinologist, he diagnosed me with hypothyroidism on top of PSOC, and they consider me “pre-diabetic”, so they had me on medicine for all of this stuff. But I felt like all I got out of those meds were mood swings, honestly. It was awful. So I joined a personal trainer again last year, and in the span of 6 months I lost 13 lbs, and $4,000. And I realized it was working, but then on the flipside, $8,000 is extremely unrealistic and so I quit working with the trainer and tried it on my own. It was hard, but for the most part I was keeping up with it. Then in January of this year I started Weight Watchers, and up until September I had lost a total of 2lbs doing that. My aunt {that works with me} has lost almost 60lbs in this same length of time. And I felt terrible; I didn’t have ANY energy, I was retaining ridiculous amounts of water, that really made it painful to even walk, and if I ate fruit my blood sugar would go really high, and I would crash hard. And one day in late August, that happened when I was in the grocery store, my sugar dropped so low I was shaking so bad, and started blacking out. All I can say, is thats the first time a donut has ever saved me from humilation! hahah 

SO after tons of research, mom and I have completely changed the way we’re eating, and I haven’t felt this good in years. We don’t eat any sugar or anything with sugar in it (even spices like Lawry’s Seasoning Salt), no wheat, no ‘bad carbs’, no beans, no processed foods, no caffeine, no fruit, nothing that has been aged or fermenting like vinegar, cheese, or mushrooms. Now we are cooking 3 meals a day, and inventing/creating our own recipes. Instead of wheat or bread, we eat grains like Quinoa, or Buckwheat, we use those flours to cook with also. We still eat potatoes, brown rice, and brown rice pasta, but all in moderation.

If I could put into words how much better I feel, I told mom that I really don’t care if I never lose weight, I just feel like a different person. I don’t retain the water that I use too, I have more energy, I don’t have sugar highs that I used to have. And it’s not nearly as hard or bad as I thought it would be, and that’s mainly because I feel so much better and that’s encouraged me to stick with it.

I’m sorry you didn’t come here for my life story but found it, and I’m sorry if I bored you, but I’m just so ridiculously excited about this that I had to share it, and maybe, just mayyybeee this could help someone else 🙂 email me for more questions! mallory_helms@yahoo.com

 

(the suitcases are sweet bargaining from Goodwill for $2 a piece ;))

11 responses to “new little journey.. {personal}

  1. Mallory, I’m so happy for you! I know you are loving this new diet and I just wanted to say that I’m so happy for you, I wish you all the best. I’m so proud of you, it took alot of courage to write this post. Good luck with everything! xoxoxo Ashton

    PS. The suitcases are darling. I love them!

  2. Hugs. I love you! And you are right. Weight is just a number, it is how YOU feel inside. I have just started realizing that in the last year as well. I’m just so happy right now. Glad you are too.

  3. Girl, I’m so happy for you!! I have really considered going on the same kind of diet.. I dont have the same health problems, but just because I feel better when I eat better.. I agree totally with you and Whitney weight is just a number and it is all about how you feel on the inside.. I’m so happy for you.. I love you and I hope that if you ever need anything I’m here..

  4. What can I say? You already said you don’t need pity so I’ll hold that back and instead say a big huge “BRAVO”! This post makes me want to eat better and work out. Seriously. Best of luck to you and may you continue to feel wonderful!

  5. Melanie Huntley

    How inspiring Mallory! We all face challenges in our lives and looks like you are making the best of yours!

  6. awww girl you are such a inspiration! I have already told you this but you look awesome and I can totally tell a difference and better yet YOU feel great!
    I am soo happy for you..love ya!

  7. I agree with Bobbie, you make me want to eat healthy Mallory!! 🙂 as long as you feel great, that’s all that matters!! best of luck to you girly! love ya!
    & lovee the brief cases, it also makes me want to go to Goodwill.

  8. Way to go Mallory! Sometimes only you know what you need, you have got a great mom to team up with you in your journey 🙂 Wish you the best!!

  9. ah, the constant battle with weight! And to think, I could actually lose weight if I just put my mind to it – I think I’d probably go a little crazy if I was on Weight Watchers for 10 months and only lost 2lbs. It sounds like you’ve finally found the thing for you though, especially if it makes you feel good. Because really, that is what matters the most. Now if only I had your willpower – and attitude!!!

  10. I now want to go eat a carrott and do boot camp haha!! if only I could have your attitude & wellpower, I’ll be in great shape!! I didn’t know you were stuffing from this, i’m always out of the loop on everything. but keep up the good work girl & i hope it continues to make you feel amazing!!

  11. I’m just now reading this Mallory and wanted to say that I think it’s great that you’ve found something that makes you feel better. Being healthy and feeling good about yourself is so much more important than a number. I’m so glad this is working for you. You’re making want to eat healthier!

Leave a Reply

