Weddington Warriors

When Renee called me and asked me to take pictures of her son {Scott’s} football game, I was beyond excited! I told her that I had never done anything quite this big, and that I would do the best I could. I knew it would be tough, but I definitely didn’t prepare myself quite enough. I always thought I wanted to be a sports photographer, but if thats the case, I need to buy my own football gear.

Anyone that knows me, knows that I love football; its a sport I could watch for hours if I had the time. So by the time I got to the game I was so nervous/excited/anxious that I didn’t know what to do with myself. We got a few shots of the bricks & plaque dedicated to the Difabion family.

IMG_2143

IMG_2145

IMG_2138

Then we moved on to the field, the guys were out practicing, and at this point I still felt pretty good about it. The lighting was workable, I was in a good position for the shots, and in no real risk of being trampled…yet.

IMG_2151 

I love everything about a football game; the band, the excitement in the stands, the cheerleaders contagious cheers, even the sound of the football gear clacking into each other as they wrestle the ball to the ground.

IMG_2425

I love this next one, the enthusiasm is irreplacable.

IMG_2423

IMG_2372

IMG_2338

IMG_2351

IMG_2388

But the part I didn’t prepare myself for is the cold; my lens kept fogging. And then trying to shoot across a football field at night is hard. So I would finally get a shot like this, and get so exiteddd! I felt the adrineline.

IMG_2419

But thenn… I realized they are not slowing down, and I’m directly in their path. And just to add; these are not little boys, these are mearly wrinkle-free-full-grown-men. And terrifying when they are running towards you and you are trapped between them and the cheerleaders; not wise Mallory, not wise. So luckily I survived that, but not so lucky was the cheerleader behind me, she and one of the players collided.

 

IMG_2789

IMG_2779

IMG_2778

IMG_2774

IMG_2750

IMG_2715

IMG_2711

IMG_2402

IMG_2325

IMG_2319

IMG_2290

IMG_2282

IMG_2275

I know this next shot is a little blurry, but I LOVE it, it just says so much. And it looks a little vintage to me.

IMG_2174

IMG_2798

IMG_2789

IMG_2770

IMG_2629

IMG_2427

IMG_2420

IMG_2627

IMG_2452

IMG_2572

IMG_2606

IMG_2566

IMG_2609

IMG_2179

I’m so blessed to have gotten to done this. I’m so thankful to Mike & Renee for asking me! You guys are the best :]

4 responses to “Weddington Warriors

  1. Mallory, I love these! I think you would do great as sports photographer based on the action you captured, and I’ve always heard sports photography is one of the hardest kinds. Great job!

  2. Mallry, you did an outstanding job with these. Every single one of them are incredible, you captured some amazing shots here!

  3. I love these. Great job! 🙂

  4. Kristen Mickles

    These are great Mallory!! They look so editorial!

Leave a Reply

