it’s personal.

{My brother Brett, and my Dad}

Growing up my dad was always a volunteer firefighter. Always. And I went through spells of hating it, embarrassed by it, and envious of it. Hating it because he would bolt out of the house during supper or birthday parties. Embarrassed by it because, well, they’re rednecks and proud of it. J and envious of it because for the most part they have a ‘brotherhood’ that makes most that know them a little jealous.

As you probably know, I’m the oldest of 7 kids, there were 3 boys born after me, and then my 3 sisters. So I was 10 before my first sister was born. And since the majority of my childhood at that point consisted of fishing, cowboys & Indians, and shooting BB guns; well it’s safe to say I was a little on the tomboy side.

I spent most of my childhood day’s trying to keep up with my brothers, since they had hatchet’s to randomly smack at tree’s, I felt it necessary to have a hachet for that too. And since Colton learned to ride the bike first, I thought he would be the perfect person to teach me how to ride a bike, until he told me to jump the ramp. (He could have warned me bad things happen once the first tire gets over the edge of the ramp and you are going super slow.) Since they thought things were fun, they had to be, right?

Me chasing my brothers ambitions spilled over into my teenage years. They all wanted to be firefighters just like dad. So I tagged along to the fire shows, and hung out at the station with dad when I could. When I turned 16 I knew I would never be able to actually be a firefighter. I’m too much of a baby. I can’t even control a bonfire, let alone a house fire. SO, get this, I decided I would be the “fire station photographer”; this was WAY before I actually developed dreams of owning a photography business, it was more of a lazy way of getting to stay around the station with my dad and brothers. At this time Colton was 15, and like I said I was 16, so I had my license, and he didn’t J we were hanging out at the station, and a fire was dispatched. “OKAY, here’s my chance! Let’s go take pictures!” Colton’s dream was firefighting. He was PUMPED that we were going to this fire call. We jumped in my little burgundy Honda and started towards our destination. He say’s “Mallory you have to turn on your hazard lights, and drive fast!” Wellllll, if you know me, you know that I drive like a grandma. For real. Hands at 10 & 2, and usually maybe 1 mile over the speed limit. I ended up buckling under pressure and pulled over for the other volunteer firefighters with their strobe lights on, pass me. I thought Colton was going to die. Be bent over in my front passenger seat with his elbows on his knees, and his face in his hands saying “this is the most embarrassing day of my life” over and over. That was the day, I quit chasing my brother’s dreams.

6 responses to “it’s personal.

  1. Mallory I love your pictures of the firemen. I know what you mean about your dad leaving to go on a fire call. Mike was the same way when he was still at home. I am glad that Mikey has taking back after his dad. But I am glad that there are people like your dad,Mikey & Mike that are there and were there to help people in need.

  2. Bobbie Brown Photography

    Oh my goodness I laughed out loud at your words! LOVED the story!!!! As I’ve already told ya, I love these shots. And, my hat is off to all of the brave men and women who fight fires and come to our rescue when called. At top speed!

  3. I love this, Mallory! I’m glad you posted it – can’t tell you which were my favorite pics; there are too many of them!

  4. Mallory~ Great pictures and great story.. Your dad has always loved it.. I can remember way back when (i’m telling my age now) when he worked for EMS and I worked at this little grill in Mineral Springs him and another guy use to always have to park down there for some reason and I can’t remember what that was but I’m sure he could tell you. They would always come over to harass me and of course get something to eat.. :)

  5. Great job!! They are all amazing but the 20th picture down is FABULOUS!!!

  6. WOOOO YOU HAVE SOME CUTE BROTHERS. I LOVE THE REAL LIFE PHOTOS.

Leave a Reply

